AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (2024)

Cruiser Rating

4.4

Very Good

58 reviews

Ratings by category

Cabins
Dining
Entertainment

Featured Review

Bordeaux Wine cruise with Wine Hosts AmaWaterways March, 2023

"

It had the daily schedule, all tours, access to your Guest Booklet which had your personal schedule which for us included pre-cruise, cruise, and post-cruise.Dining: Three meals served in the dining room each day in the dining room, as well as light lunch and dinner options in the lounge and one night per passenger (no extra charge) at the chef’s table at the back of the ship.

..."

Read More

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (1)

2012_Alaska_bound

10+ Cruises

Age 60s

Filters

1-10 of 58 AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews

Great First River Cruise

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (2)

First Time River Cruiser

2-5 Cruises

• Age 60s

Our first river cruise was an enlightening experience. With two ocean cruises in our past, we were skeptical of the significant cost difference between a river and ocean cruise but soon realized you do get what you pay for. Far more intimate service, better food, and attentiveness on excursions. AmaWaterways is top notch and we couldn't say enough positive things about our cruise manager,

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your river cruise experience with us on board our AmaDolce! It is great to know that our team and Cruise Manager were welcoming and helpful during your stay....

Sail Date: March 2024

Great experience

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (3)

CBcruiseCB

2-5 Cruises

• Age 50s

My friend and I shared a room (two twin beds) for the week cruise and had a terrific time.We spent the first night in Bordeaux at the InterContinental Hotel and boarded the ship the next day. The Hotel is fabulous!Our quarters were small for two people, but we managed. We were on the top floor and with the "balcony" which was not really a balcony, just a nice window that could be

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Greetings from AmaWaterways, thank you for sharing your river cruise experience with us! It is great to know that our team was welcoming and helpful during your stay. We are delighted you had...

Sail Date: October 2023

Cabin Type: Stateroom with French Balcony

California Wines in Bordeaux?

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (4)

chimay53

2-5 Cruises

• Age 70s

The cruise was wonderful . However , the cruise was designated as a "Bordeaux Wine Cruise."The wines that were featured by the wine expert were California wines. These wines were very good, however I expected Bordeaux wines to be featured on a Bordeaux wine cruise. If I were cruising in Napa or Sonoma, I would not expect Bordeaux wines to be featured. This is the third time we sailed on an

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Hello, dear guest. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us on board. We apologize for any confusion with regard to how you our Celebration of Wine River Cruises may be...

Sail Date: June 2023

Cabin Type: Suite with French Balcony

Aging Ship with outdated furnishings.

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (5)

tdtexas49

6-10 Cruises

• Age 70s

We took this cruise as a part of a group hosted by a local winery.The best part of the cruise were the winery excursions.After that not so good. Only had 1 meal that was out of the ordinary. While a different soup was offered at each evening meal it they all tasted the same. The other issue at dining was the change of staff even when you sat at the same table. The primary lounge

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience your negative experience may have caused and will pass this information along to our guest relations department. If you would...

Sail Date: April 2023

Cabin Type: Single Stateroom

Bordeaux Wine cruise with Wine Hosts AmaWaterways March, 2023

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (6)

2012_Alaska_bound

10+ Cruises

• Age 60s

Ship: Amadolce, max passengers 140, actual passengers on our cruise 110. Beautiful ship.Cabin: 3**, Category A+. We chose this cabin because the pictures online showed a larger bathroom arrangement than the rest of the categories. When we cruise on Scenic last year in their lowest level cabin, we had to open the bathroom door to turn around, so bathroom size is now a priority. Unfortunately,

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Hello. Thank you for taking a moment to write about your recent journey with us. It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed the service our crew was able to provide you. Your generous...

Sail Date: March 2023

Cabin Type: Stateroom with French Balcony

Excellent Experience on First River Cruise

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (7)

ATLnexttrip

10+ Cruises

• Age 60s

I saw an add for an October sailing of the Bordeaux Wine Region and booked the October cruise from the city of Bordeaux. It was a great value, especially since daily excursion options were offered and included in the cost, as well as free flowing wine/beer at lunch dinner, plus a daily happy hour!After many ocean cruises from US to Caribbean, Alaska, and in Europe, this was our first river

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback – it is truly appreciated. We take pride in providing the best service for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on board again in...

Sail Date: October 2022

Cabin Type: Stateroom with French Balcony

Everything and more

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (8)

Fool43

First Time Cruiser

• Age 80s

We chose the the Taste of Bordeaux trip with AmaWaterways after significant due diligence on numerous websites, including many you tube accounts by Travel Advisors and non-travel advisors. I had originally zeroed in on another company for the same cruise due to their truly "all inclusive" policy, i.e. tips, 24 hour premium drinks, etc. In this particular case, I could not find availability on

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Hello! Thank you for your kind words and positive feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you received such excellent service while sailing with us and that everything was to your liking during...

Sail Date: September 2022

Cabin Type: Suite with French Balcony

Very attentive staff, great exercise options but food disappointing

Review for a Europe - River Cruise Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (9)

Irenan

6-10 Cruises

• Age 50s

We choose this cruise for the destination, Bordeaux. As such, the cruise met our expectations and then some. There were also many daily exercise options including long bicycle rides which we enjoyed.The staff was solicitous, friendly and professional. The cruise was kept clean and COVID special protocols were in place. The food was the big disappointment. From the appetizers which were

...

Read More

Sail Date: April 2022

Cabin Type: Stateroom with French Balcony

Marvelous

Review for a Europe - All Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (10)

fsfan1

10+ Cruises

• Age 80s

I have done this cruise before. The only way to describe it is "marvelous." The itinerary is filled with great moments. The Chateaus, the wine tastings, the scenery. The crew on the ship was outstanding. They couldn't do enough to please you.Special thanks to the cruise manager Ioana . The Chef's table dinner was delicious. I had the pleasure of having the dinner with Ioana and Captain

...

Read More

Sail Date: September 2021

Amazing Amadolce

Review for a Europe - All Cruise on AmaDolce

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (11)

Rolu29

2-5 Cruises

• Age 60s

Embarkation went smoothly and quick as well as disembarkation, everybody knows what to do and where to send you.The ship is exactly the right size with the perfect amount of people. The attention to deatils and to have us, the passengers always happy and doing something is great.The tours are superb, and since we did The Taste of Bourdeaux, the Chateaus and vineyards we visited were

...

Read More

Response from SocialMediaA, Coordinator, Social Media

Dear Rolu29,Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our Taste of Bordeaux itinerary on board AmaDolce. We could not be more thrilled to hear how much you...

Sail Date: November 2019

Cabin Type: Stateroom with French Balcony

Find an AmaDolce Cruise from £2,657

AmaWaterways AmaDolce Cruise Reviews (2024 UPDATED): Ratings of AmaWaterways AmaDolce (2024)

FAQs

Is AmaWaterways financially stable? ›

Since the start, AmaWaterways has pursued a conservative growth plan, investing all money back into the business and building new ships while keeping the company debt-free.

What is the dress code on AmaWaterways? ›

1. What is the dress code? Comfortable “Country Club Casual” is the recommended attire for daytime, and to pack something a little dressier for the Captain's night/Farewell Dinner – similar to how one would dress to dine at a 5-star restaurant.

Is AmaWaterways all inclusive? ›

All AmaWaterways river cruises offer you the convenience and ease of having everything included. While planning your all-inclusive cruise, if you would like AmaWaterways to include your airfare, it is simple and without worry.

What is the average age on the AmaWaterways? ›

Karst reports about 50% of AmaWaterways' clients are over the age of 65, and another 46% are between the ages of 35 and 65 years of age.

Is AmaWaterways expensive? ›

What is the average cost of an AmaWaterways cruise? On average, a cruise with AmaWaterways costs $1,499 per person, taking into account current itineraries well into December 2025.

What is this number 1 cruise port in the Mediterranean? ›

Overall, the port of Barcelona in Spain reported the highest cruise passenger volume among the selected ports in 2023, with roughly 3.6 million passengers. That year, the port of Marseille in France reported the second-highest volume, with around 2.6 million cruise passenger movements.

Are European river cruises for old people? ›

River cruises generally attract older, often retired passengers. They are this market's core, its A-listers.

What is the best month for a river cruise in Europe? ›

Best Times to Take European River Cruises

The European River cruising season runs from March through December, though the best time to take a river cruise in Europe is during the late spring (April-May) or early fall (September-October).

What time is dinner at AmaWaterways? ›

Dinner is normally served at 7:00. It is usually a four-course meal, with two or more options to choose from for each course, plus vegetarian salad and main course options.

Is alcohol free on AmaWaterways? ›

Complimentary soft drinks, juices, house brand spirits, local beers, filtered coffee and tea are available during the cruise. Free flowing wine with every lunch and dinner on board. Imported wine and premium alcoholic beverages are available to purchase at an additional cost.

Can you wear jeans on a river cruise? ›

For daytime and excursions, think shorts or light trousers in warm weather, and jeans with jumpers when it cools down. Dining Dress Code: Lunch is casual, reflecting your daytime attire. Dinner, however, nudges towards smart casual, with shorts, T-shirts, and jeans generally discouraged.

Is AMA river cruise luxury? ›

Top Rated Award winning Luxury River Cruises | AmaWaterways™

How much are gratuities on AmaWaterways? ›

Total suggested gratuities for the 12 days Secrets of Egypt and the Nile is $250 per person. This includes: Cairo Pre- and Post-River Cruise: $130 per person, which supports the services of your Cruise Manager, Egyptologists, drivers and other land-based staff.

Is AmaWaterways adults only? ›

On our Africa Safaris & Wildlife Cruise program, due to safety precautions, there is a minimum age limit of 12 years old, unless otherwise agreed upon by AmaWaterways. AmaWaterways does not provide child-specific programs or child-minding facilities.

Which cruise line has most debt? ›

Carnival (CCL) and Norwegian Cruise Line (US:NCLH) are the most highly geared amongst the biggest operators, with their net debt piles increasing from $10bn (£7.9bn) to $30bn and from $10bn to $20bn respectively since 2019.

Which cruise line has the most issues? ›

The Least Secure Cruise Lines of 2023
  • Carnival Cruise Line: 51 incidents.
  • Royal Caribbean Cruise Line: 27 incidents.
  • Disney Cruise Line: 20 incidents.
  • MSC Cruise Lines: 10 incidents.

Are water levels affecting river cruises? ›

Water levels are unpredictable.

In many cases, the cruise line may only find out on your actual sailing, or a few days beforehand, that a particular stretch of water isn't navigable.

Who is AmaWaterways owned by? ›

In 2002, Kristin Karst, Rudi Schreiner and Jimmy Murphy founded European river cruise line AmaWaterways. Now, co-owners Karst and Schreiner, a husband-and-wife team (with Schreiner as president and Karst as executive vice president), are solidly cruising along in the travel industry.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Nicola Considine CPA

Last Updated:

Views: 5694

Rating: 4.9 / 5 (49 voted)

Reviews: 80% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Nicola Considine CPA

Birthday: 1993-02-26

Address: 3809 Clinton Inlet, East Aleisha, UT 46318-2392

Phone: +2681424145499

Job: Government Technician

Hobby: Calligraphy, Lego building, Worldbuilding, Shooting, Bird watching, Shopping, Cooking

Introduction: My name is Nicola Considine CPA, I am a determined, witty, powerful, brainy, open, smiling, proud person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.